SQUARE wins two architecture awards

It is with great honour to announce that the learning centre of the University of St. Gallen (HSG), called SQUARE, has won two architecture awards for its interior design concept developed by Evolution Design.

SQUARE Wins two awards 1
Project background

The University of St. Gallen aims to become a symbol of innovation in education and the new learning centre SQUARE is an important step towards achieving this goal. The building was designed as an inspiring place that creates unbroken connectivity and multifunctionality, and Evolution Design was commissioned to develop a comprehensive interior concept that enables experimental learning and teaching and supports the countless learning and event scenarios that take place in SQUARE on a daily basis.

In order to bring the new learning and teaching formats to life, we developed a toolbox concept – a set of elements like furniture, presentation equipment, a foldable stage (flat pack), rugs and plants – all of which can be easily combined to create distinctive layouts and atmospheres throughout the building. To increase the spatial versatility, most items – from chairs and stools to whiteboards, tables and plants – are fitted with castor wheels allowing the items to be moved around freely.

SQUARE Wins two awards 2
The awards

«Receiving these two architecture awards – the golden Arch Design Award and the silver A’Design Award – is a strong confirmation from the architecture, design, academic communities, and the wider society, that our learning and interior concept for SQUARE is well-designed, innovative, functional, and demonstrates a commitment to enhancing the human experience through the built environment,» says Evolution Design’s partner and creative director Tanya Ruegg.

SQUARE Wins two awards 3

Congratulations to the project’s core design team - Carolin Michalka, Jessica Mentz, Zhiyang Chiu, Patrik Uihlein, Dariusz Florczak, and Stuart Dickens – and the client's project team, especially Dominik Isler, Florian Wussmann, Jill Schwaller, Aldo Reibke, Hans Jörg Baumann, and Philippe Narval.

The winning entries can be viewed on Arch Design Award and A’Design Award & Competition.

This site uses cookies, which may include third party cookies, to improve and personalise your experience on our website. By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy 

  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.